Map of Austria

Austria is a landlocked country located in the heart of Europe. It is bordered by eight other countries: Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein. With an area of 83,879 square kilometers (32,386 square miles), it is slightly smaller than Maine. Austria’s terrain is mostly mountainous, with the Alps occupying most of the western and southern parts of the country. The capital city of Vienna is located in the eastern part of Austria and is home to more than 1.8 million people.

Austrians are proud of their culture and history, which has been shaped by a mix of influences from Germanic, Slavic, and Hungarian traditions. The official language of Austria is German, but many Austrians also speak English, which makes it easy for travelers from English-speaking countries to communicate. There are many beautiful places to visit in Austria, from the bustling city of Vienna to the stunning mountain scenery of the Alps. Whether you’re interested in exploring Austrian culture or simply enjoying the natural beauty of the country, Austria has something to offer everyone.