Map of Malaysia

Malaysia is located in Southeast Asia, bordered by Thailand to the north, the Philippines to the northeast, Brunei to the east, and Indonesia to the south. The country consists of two distinct regions: Peninsular Malaysia, which is situated on a peninsula bordering the South China Sea; and East Malaysia, which occupies the northern part of the island of Borneo. The geography of Malaysia is diverse, with a tropical climate and a variety of landscapes ranging from mountains and rainforests to beaches and coral reefs. The culture of Malaysia is also diverse, with influences from Chinese, Indian, Arabic, and European cultures.